Early Gender Definitions

My 5-year-old nephew already knew that, when I was a kid, I loved playing with Tonka trucks. That was fine with him. He likes them so much, why wouldn’t I?

But I still have all my Barbie dolls and items. I sometimes take some out for his sister, although she’s still a bit young to be able to dress them up herself and whatnot. My nephew asked me whether I used to play with Barbies too when I was young. And, God forbid, I said yes.

Now it was quite a disturbance in his world. How could I like Barbies when I liked trucks?

4 Comments »

  1. Tracy Said:

    Hehe, cute 🙂

  2. Kaylee Said:

    I used to be more tomboyish, so I actually hid my barbie-playing-time from my family 😛

  3. Latrina Said:

    I managed to enjoy them both. 😛 Although I just liked to decorate my barbie houses rather than PLAY with them. I did love those small race cars with the included tracks! Battery operated cars were a blast too. 🙂

  4. Pamela Said:

    Aww cute! 🙂 I grew up playing with my brother so we would alternate playing with his toys & mine.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

