My Interest in Languages

I am 20 years old. I have a part-time job. I doubt that’s what I’ll be doing for the rest of my life. Summarizing texts gets old.

Anyway, I have long been interested in languages. More particularly, I have long wanted to learn German and Russian. Of course, around here it’s basically impossible. I’d have to go back to Montreal, which is not a problem at all for me.

I never really think about working in that field. It’s probably because the first thing that comes to mind is teaching and that’s something I really don’t want to do. Me, teach? I would beg for ten seconds in front of the classroom before running off. My mother, however, told me of something else. She knows someone who’s son has learned Russian and now works for the Canadian embassy in Russia.

This has been running through my mind ever since she said that. First, learn languages, which, in itself, is fun. I love being able to understand different languages. Second, travel! If I were to speak French, English and German, many doors would be open to me. Or rather, many countries.

Oh the possibilities!

3 Comments »

  1. adastra Said:

    You don’t necessarily need to take classes to learn languages – in fact, I think they’re much less rewarding than you teaching the language to yourself. I taught myself Swedish a few years ago and I made to to an intermediate level without ever attending a class. I bought a book which was adequate for self-learners and just worked my way through it in every free minute I had. I went to the library to study twice a week, and sometimes I studied at a café in my lunch break. I also imported a lot of Swedish movies from Sweden, so I could watch them with Swedish subtitles to get the pronunciation by matching the spoken words to the subtitles.

    I once took a Spanish course, but within 6 months I learned not even half of what I taught myself in Swedish in the same amount of time.

  2. Macca Said:

    I also have a deep, deep interest in languages and over the times have attempted to study French, German, Dutch and Japanese. I’m most proficient in Japanese followed closely by French, but my Dutch and German are at a ‘I can kinda understand what you wrote…’ stage.

    I don’t expect to follow a career in languages specifically, but I am looking into computational linguistics – things like language in artificial intelligence (you have no idea how hard it is to give a computer a dictionary and make it speak fluently).

    But yes, travel. I am in fact considering traveling to Japan to teach EFL (possibly as a teaching assistant with JET – if they will take me). Even though it’s shitty minimum wage work with shitty kids, it’s going to facilitate the learning of Japanese, and allow me to do some traveling. 🙂 Not least, there’s so few jobs in the UK I don’t expect to find one when I graduate so if the opportunity comes along to teach, I will take it.

  3. Kaylee Said:

    It’s amazing to discover that there’s a job out there that involves doing something you love. I hope you get the chance to pursue this in some way… 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

