I Need Glasses

I need new glasses. I ran out of contact lenses over a year ago, and the only pair of glasses I own is very old, which means it’s in a bad state, absolutely ugly, and not quite well adjusted to my eyesight. When I mentioned it to my mother, she offered to pay for them. I was pleasantly surprised, although admittedly ashamed that I can’t afford anything on my own. Today, perhaps to make me feel better about it, I had yet another reminder of how badly I need them.

When my mom came to pick me up before the holidays, she bought some eggs for her breakfast. (She had to come because I had furniture and whatnot to bring with me, else I’d have taken the bus) We put them in the small fridge, in the spots especially designed for that purpose.

I open the fridge today, and see the remaining eggs from my height (which is not very high). There are two, I think. And one of them is in a bad state which I can’t quite figure out. It’s like it would broken, but hard-boiled, since nothing is dripping…Then I bend over to put food into the fridge…and realize it’s actually a garlic bulb. So much for weird broken eggs. 😦

3 Comments »

  1. Kaylee Said:

    Lmao @ the broken egg actually being a garlic bulb. I hate deteriorating eyesight. I need new glasses, too (although mine aren’t as old and ineffective as yours).

  2. Julie Said:

    Oh, I forgot to mention I wasn’t actually wearing my glasses at the time. 😛

  3. Vera Said:

    Oh that’s not quite a heartening development. I used to hate getting new stuff, before I started working. Not only did I have to rely on my parents to come with me, they generally wouldn’t let me buy the frame I liked (too expensive) :\

    Though in your case maybe sucking it up would be a better option.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

