Review: Doctor Who: Series Four

With some time passed since the season finale aired, I feel like it’s about time I share my comments. Please not that this review contains major spoilers. If you haven’t watched the series until the end, I recommend you to simply not read any further.

The series started very strongly, with excellent episodes. I wasn’t sure about Donna when I had watched the Christmas special before series 3, but it turned out she was an excellent companion. A mature woman with “only” a friendship with the Doctor was definitely a good change. We can’t have everyone fall in love with the Doctor, awesome as he may be.

There were a few episodes that were less good, but that’s just the kind of thing that happens in a TV show. Besides, there was nothing deeply boring, just some moments not as strong as the others.

The series also had me longing for the return of Rose. It wasn’t that I disliked Donna or even that I wanted her to return as a full companion. I just wanted to know what the hell was going on and was having wishful thinking of some sort of happy ending.

At the end of the season, we were left with two unanswered mysteries: who the hell is River Song and where is Jenny? Well, we sort of know the latter, she fled with a spaceship, but we don’t know her exact whereabouts. Also, it’s impossible to leave us at that and never have the Doctor meet her again! That would be very poor writing. There is no full series next year, only a few specials. I really hope that at least one of these two will re-appear. Suspense is good, but leaving things hanging for too long is never a good step. You must always give something more for your audience to chew on.

On to the finale. We were given a cliché “Let’s run towards each other!” reunion, but gladly (and obviously) it was interrupted by an extermination. I found the non-regeneration to be…well, I’m not sure. I like David Tennant but everything seemed a bit stretched.

There were however grandiose moments in the finale. Donna was most awesome.

I admit I also liked seeing Rose “get” the Doctor…and the Doctor not actually being reunited with her.

There was however in the finale one of the most horrible things I have ever seen in fiction. We were given a great series, with an awesome Donna. Every minute she became more awesome, growing up, developing a new personality (in a good way, not in a split-personality way…), and eventually becoming part Time Lord. And then…R.T. Davies took up a hatchet and slaughtered her with a maniacal laughter.

She was stripped of the best moments of her life in only a few seconds. She can’t even think “Oh, I wish I’ll see the Doctor again”. She can’t access the wealth of experience she has gained. She just went back to…that. The Runaway Bride Donna, if not even worse because now we know what she could become. RIP Donna, you were a fantastically brilliant companion.

Leave a Reply

