Back From Vacation

I arrived home yesterday, around 5:30 p.m. And today I’m back at work, poor little me.

I left with my mom and my eldest sister around 8:30 a.m. last Friday. We rode all day long and arrived late in the afternoon at my sister’s apartement, which also happens to be mine. 😀 It was the first time I saw it, and I was rather pleased (why do I always put a comma before “and”?).

On Saturday, we left in the morning for Quebec. My cousin was getting married in the Basilique-Cathédrale. It’s a huge church, with gold everywhere.

We then went to the Manoir du Lac Delage, which belongs to the parents of my cousin’s new husband. It is a really beautiful hotel. We were served a five-services (I don’t know whether services is the right term) meal. Cheese, apple-flavored stuff, lamb (way too rare for me), flowers, duck, crème brûlée, all kind of yummy, expensive stuff. The chairs were covered in white satin or something like it. Every guest was given a silver paper knife.

I went to bed rather early because I hadn’t slept much the night before and because we had driven a lot (6 hours between my village and Montreal, 3 hours between Montreal and Quebec, where the wedding took place). When I got up the next day, my mom had brought me a piece from the cake. It was delicious.

There was breakfast served at 10 a.m. that morning. 22 fucking bucks. You could eat of everything: eggs, fruits, cereals, chocolate fondue, pies, tarts, crêpes, cookies, cheese, bread, sausage, bacon and surely more that I fortunately forgot, sparing you of my habit of listing everything when I start listing something.

I went visiting Quebec with my mom, my sister, a friend of my mom and her husband (to the friend, not to my mom). It is such an awesomely beautiful city! We went to the Château Frontenac, we drove through the Plaines d’Abraham, we entered a few shops, my sister took a photograph of me in front of a house where Antoine de Saint-Exupéry spent some time…It was much fun.

And now I’m back to work, as I said, and I insist on the “poor me” once again.

Leave a Reply

