Employed

This is my second day at my job. “Is” like in “I is not working at the moment but I should be”. 15 minutes before dinner break.

I work in an office, to redo the local SADC website. As you can see from the site, it seriously needs being worked on. It was done in FrontPage, which in itself is a good reason to redo it. It also includes more proprietary attributes than Internet Explorer itself can handle, Javascript all over the place, things that behave weirdly, and much more fun things. It also is entirely HTML (or is without the Javascript and crappy things), which means it is a pain to edit when you don’t know anything about it.

I have successfully turned it into a fully XHTML transitional website after about 11 hours of work. I am now working on creating a script that will enable the owners of the site to edit the database of businesses that is on it without too much pain. I am now truly discovering the marvel of PHP books.

I really don’t feel like I’m working. It’s like I’m just doing the same thing I do at home, except that I’m not home…There however is a great disadvantage (beside not being allowed to get up once in a while to eat, go outside or sing): 8 hours a day on the computer is a pain in the eyes. And then, when I come home, what pastime can I have?

Leave a Reply

