I Surprise Myself

I finally decided to actually read Harry Potter. But since I don’t want Mrs. Rowling to be overwhelmed by too much money, I’ve been a nasty little girl and actually downloaded the four first books from the web. Mwahaha.

Why didn’t I read them any earlier? Because I’m sick and tired of hearing about nothing but this book, and because my mom told me she didn’t like the style in which they were written, finding them way too childish.

Why did I start reading them? To stop saying I hate something without actually having taken a look at it. I’m however already strongly biased and quite convinced that I will not like them. Already, the beginning sounds so Tolkienish, with the Dudleys being “the last people you’d expect to be involved in anything strange or mysterious, because they just didn’t hold with such nonsense”. Doesn’t that sound like a very Hobbitish description?

Leave a Reply

